This is the "Research" page of the "English III Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English III Research Paper  

Last Updated: Feb 25, 2015 URL: http://ihslmc.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Start Here! Research both Sides of the Issue!

1. Gathering Sources. Read about a broad topic with "peripheral vision," looking for subtopics and important terms.



Pro/Con Resources (username and password needed for resources below - see handout)

Provides essays and articles on different sides of controversial issues.  Useful in both choosing and researching a topic.

SIRS

Opposing viewpoints

Other Library Databases:

  • -Articles from more than 6,000 magazines and newspapers are indexed, most in full text. Enter keywords in advanced search
  • -A collection of reference material, periodicals, newspapers and more.

 

 

INFOHIO Free Trials

The databases listed below are available through the INFOhio free vendor trial.  The trial lasts from Feb. 1 - March 1.  YOU WILL NOT HAVE ACCESS TO THESE RESOURES AFTER MARCH 1!  If you find any useful articles from either database, please email, print or save them.

Issues & Controversies

K-12 Trial Username: 
 ohionetk12
K-12 Trial Password: 
 infohio2015
 
 

Research Process

 

Database Checklist

Types of Sources: periodical articles, overviews, viewpoints, statistics, databases.


In SIRS Knowledge Source

  • Find an overview of my topic
  • Identify an essential question for my topic
  • Find pros and cons on my topic

In Opposing Viewpoints

  • Find statistics
  • Find audio and video
  • Find magazines and newspapers
  • Find viewpoint articles

In all DATABASES,

  • find key terms/topics related to my topic
  • mark articles and email to myself

 

iSearch

ISearch (INFOhio)

Find reliable information for your research projects with just one search. Use the tabs to find encyclopedia, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, primary source documents, videos, and ebooks at your reading level.

ISearch:
 

Finding Information

  • Information surrounds us in many different forms.  There are videos, music, art, newspapers, magazines, websites, blogs, apps…and the list goes on!  There are popular sources and scholarly sources.  

  • Be an effective, creative researcher. Begin with quality information from multiple sources. (INFOHIO Research 4 Success)

 

Research Log

  • Track your research with a research journal. Open the Research journal Google Doc. (You will need to "make a copy" of the doc in order to make changes to it.)  Rename the doc with your last name at the beginning of the title (i.e. Janosek Research Journal).   It will help you know where you searched and how you found excellent information.  
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip